WICHE & T.H. Bell Programs

WICHE Professional Student Exchange Program

The Western Interstate Commission for Higher Education (WICHE) Professional Student Exchange Program enables students in 11 western states to enroll in selected out-of-state professional programs usually because those fields of study are not available at public institutions in their home states.

Students enrolled in the WICHE Professional Student Exchange Program receive preference in admission. They pay reduced levels of tuition: for most students, resident tuition in public institutions or reduced standard tuition at private schools. The home state pays a support fee to the admitting school to help cover the cost of students’ education. Fields supported by your state are listed below. State support and program participation affecting students are subject to change by legislative or administrative action. The number of students supported by each state is determined through state legislative appropriations.

Utah participates in the Optometry and Podiatry programs.
Completed forms are due October 15, 2019.

2019-20 Podiatry and Optometry Application


T.H. Bell Teaching Incentive Loan


Terrel H. Bell Teaching Incentive Loans pay up to full tuition and general fees, and may be received for up to four years of full-time enrollment or until licensing requirements have been met, whichever is less. Teaching incentive loan recipients are expected to repay the loan through an equal length of work (i.e., one year of loan support requires one year of work) in which the recipient uses their program-supported education to benefit students in Utah’s K-12 schools. Recipients who do not meet this obligation are required to make monetary repayment of the loan.

To Study:

Education, and may include special education teachers, speech or language pathologists, or other licensed professionals who provide services to students with disabilities.


All Utah public colleges and universities and at those Utah private colleges and universities that offer a state-approved teacher education program.


Open to all Utah resident undergraduate, graduate, full-time, and part-time students who (1) have been admitted to, or have made application and are prepared to enter into, a teacher education or similar program preparing them for licensure, and (2) declare intent to complete the prescribed course of study and teach/work in Utah. The program is subject to other requirements in accordance with Utah state law and State Board of Regents policy. Selection based on GPA and intended teaching field as determined by the teacher education program.


Specific date varies by institution. Contact the institution for more information.


For application and instructions, contact the college or university of choice.